top of page

  NMLS SAFE Practice Exams & Guide  

Valuable Tools for Your Upcoming Mortgage Loan Originator Test

Insightful Guide - Great Grade - Better Career

(Last Updated: Feb. 2019)

"The two exams in this guide, reflect what I saw on the actual test." - Tom R.

Sample NMLS SAFE Test Question:

  1 of 250 Practice Questions Available in our Guides 

How long is the period of the right to rescind after closing for the purchase of a residential property?

A). 0 Days

B). 3 Days

C). 7 Days

D). 10 Days

NMLS SAFE Mortage Loan Originator Practice Exam

(Hover Over)

SAFE Mortgage Loan Originator Outline Study Guide


Two Full Length Practice National Exams

(Last Edition: Updated February 2019)

About the NMLS SAFE MLO Exam

Following the mortgage meltdown of the late 00's, the U.S. government passed "The SAFE Mortgage Licensing Act of 2008."  As a result, all licensed Mortgage Loan Originators were required to pass a standard national test created by NMLS.


The goal of NMLS and its exam, is to establish a common threshold to receive a MLO license, while also developing a set of practices that regulate mortgage loan originators. By instituting these standards, the NMLS aims to both increase efficiencies for the industry, and enhance consumer protection. 


To ensure those goals are met, the SAFE Act requires state-licensed MLOs to pass a written qualified test on 5 main topics.

1. Federal Mortgage-related Laws (23%)
2. General Mortgage Knowledge (23%)
3. Mortgage Loan Origination Activities (25%)
4. Ethics (16%)
5. Uniform State Content (13%)


Each Section Covered in Our Guides

Additionally, each state has its own set of NMLS requirements, which we recommended double checking before taking the NMLS SAFE MLO Exam.


Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page